Beetle Tracks

Laughter rolls down mountain trails, so loud the
fishermen pause. Anxious cormorants await release.

In the forest, sunlight carved in twain, golden shards
flung into pregnant emptiness. Unaware, the beetle ambles on.

~~~

Picture found here: http://www.art-virtue.com/painting/history/yuan/yuan.htm

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beetle Tracks

  1. yelena says:

    your imagery always delivers so many colors and exquisite scenes to my imagination. this is quite lovely~

  2. yoga-adan says:

    and so many times i feel like the beetle, then remember, or realize, in moments, the mountain trails and forests –

    great image too, nice pic(k) ;-)

  3. D... says:

    I love that I now know a poem where beetles play a role, and important one, even if they are unaware.
    Funny when I think of beetles I think of the Japanese using them for “battles”, like a cock fight, but with beetles. Folks used to bet big money on them. Ah me and my fun facts. Sorry I’ve been away, but it will be fun catching up. Missed you!!!

  4. This poem makes me wonder about the connection between the forest and the laughter. perhaps the forest is laughing, exuberant with life?
    (also, I love the line about the cormorants. They are great poetic birds: tense, beautiful, dark and strange)

Leave a Reply

