Untitled

Oh, hi, hello there. I would introduce myself but I don’t really have a name. But if you want to you can give me a name if it makes this encounter easier for you. Trout? Very well. For this conversation I am Trout. I would also like to apologise for my lack of an appearance. If I am being honest with you I have what you would call an ineffable appearance but if you would like to know what I look like, I bare a resemblance to a galaxy, or a nebula. Again, if it would make this dialogue cordial I can take any form you wish. A flying dragon of Korean origin? Very well. Is this what you pictured? Good, lets continue. You can ask me any question you like.

How long have I existed? Hmmm…I have always been. To be honest I don’t think about that. I don’t recall having a beginning…if I had a beginning. Will I have an end? I will have to wait when…if that comes to pass. Perhaps it will, perhaps it will not. Am I an infinite being? Maybe. But again that sort of thing does not concern me. Infinity is a measure of time and I do not know if I abide by the rules of time. Perhaps I do, but I have always existed in a state of “Being” as far as I can tell.

Why am I speaking English? Its your language. If you were Norwegian I would be speaking in Norwegian. Just as you wanted me to appear as a flying dragon of Korean origin in order for you to see me in a more tangible way, you hear me as an English speaker in order to understand me. …Yes I can speak in any language and appear in any form.

What am I? An entity, a being, a thing that exists. Part of the cosmos. Am I God? Perhaps, but I doubt it. Being a God would entail me being separate from the universe when in fact I am part of it, at one with it. Being a God would require me to have control of something when I do not. Things happen. Sure I am part of most things and can see lots of them, but I do not control them. Me? The universe itself? Again maybe. But once again I have to state that I do not think about these things. I just exist, I just be.

Another question? Thats okay. Gender? I do not have a gender. But I sounds like a human male? With a Mid-West accent? Again as with language and appearance this is how you are perceiving me. If you were perceiving me as a female I would have a female voice. Say that I was in conversation with a blackbird I would sound like a blackbird and again, I would represent whichever gender the blackbird would see me as. The same would apply with cuttlefish, but instead of speaking I would communicate via flashes of colour. Sorry I rambled there.

Perceptions? Ah, you are talking about how you are seeing me right now. A flying dragon of Korean origin with a mid-west accent. It is simply how you see me in order to understand me. In my, well lets call it my regular form is simply what being is. Nothing more, nothing less. To say it another way, I am not as I seem nor am I otherwise.  I simply am. But for the purposes of this conversation I am a flying dragon of Korean origin who speaks with a mid-west accent. To see me as I truly am you would have to lose you’re preconceptions and judgements, to experience me without any qualifications, to just be. Yes, that’s hard to do but don’t worry, it can be achieved with time and practice. Oh, you had it there for about 5 seconds. See? Ineffable, abstract. You’re not missing much.

Oh, no more questions? Thats fine. You know where you are going? Thats good. I wish you safe passage home. If you get lost, you can ask me for help with directions. Only directions though. I can show you the way but I cannot take you there.

Okay, I honestly have no idea what this is. It was conceived after watching the Futurama episode “Godfellas” (which is a great piece of TV) : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godfellas and some bits of Zen Buddhism. The last line comes from the Grateful Dead song “Ripple”. Which is an excellent song by what I think is the greatest band ever. As always feedback is welcomed. In particular in a case like this. This is either a glorious failure or an inexplicable success.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untitled

  1. D... says:

    Now this put a smile on my face. It’s a quirky bit of fun. It sort of reminded me of Kafka’s The Metamorphosis, but with a bit more of a sense of humor. But I think Gregor knew he was a bug, he was just confused as to how he became one…

Leave a Reply

