City Lights (Poem and fragments)

The rain comes down.
Comes down in sheets.

Through the cloudburst haze
the lights become blurred

amorphous shapes flashing in
the heavy dew mist.

~~~

The rain comes down in sheets against the city lights, strings of neon that splinter on the sidewalks, forming puddles that capture the cities reflection, broken only by the footsteps of night wanderers.

~~~

The rain falls fine, encasing the city in a mist. Lights become distorted, losing shape and definition, formless entities flashing in the haze. They no longer advertise or guide, they simply hang in the firmament, flickering and changing colour on their own whims, electrical pulses reborn as bioluminescent organisms.

~~~

It’s the only thing with fully working lights. They shine through the downpour, whilst everything else loses form, becoming distant, alien. It serves as a beacon, offering warmth and shelter on cold, rain drenched nights.

Unfortunately the noodle bar is full right now. But if you wait awhile a seat will be available.

~~~

As always, feedback is welcomed.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Fragments, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to City Lights (Poem and fragments)

  1. D... says:

    Can I say this, Bladerunner. I’ve been thinking about this movie lately. I have been considering this and The Mosquito Coast movie. But that’s another discussion. This series of poems sets me thinking of a that movie. It’s an outside ramen joint isn’t it. Where you sit at the bar, very old school.

    • The running title in my note pad was “Unititled (Blade Runner)”. Thats all i’m gonna say.

      Also guess what I watched tonight?

      • D... says:

        Haha, that’s too perfect. That movie was and still is awesome!!!!!!! Visually stunning and a good commentary on our society, plus when that chick starting doing those cartwheels it freaked me out a bit.

  2. A~Lotus says:

    “The rain comes down in sheets against the city lights, strings of neon that splinter on the sidewalks, forming puddles that capture the cities reflection, broken only by the footsteps of night wanderers.”

    That prose is my absolute favorite–poetic and vividly powerful. I love the phrase “strings of neon that splinter on the sidewalks.” That’s a breathtaking image!

    Thank you, dear Skyraft for visiting my blog! It is much appreciated and a surprise. 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment. And I am glad you enjoyed reading things I have written. I actually got that image from watching rain fall against the garden light.

      And I really enjoyed visiting your blog. And reading the wonderful poems you wrote. I’ll be back some time soon.

  3. I’ve never seen Bladerunner, but I enjoyed this piece nontheless… fantastic images 🙂

  4. claudia says:

    haha…love the closure…great texture to this..you paint a mesmerizing rainy atmosphere here with the lights and puddles, broken by nightwanderers… love to watch the reflection of a city on wet pavements…

  5. love this! I really like the imagery that comes with water and lights. night adds a whole mirage of illusions to it as well. beautiful poetry!
    I wrote one you might like, titled Nightlights.

    here is my latest
    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/we-make-love/

  6. beautiful clear imagery, despite the curtain of rain!

  7. tashtoo says:

    I like the way you play Poet! (For me, BladeRunner was one of the first “grown-up” movies I was lucky enough to watch…and some of those images haunt me to this day!) Enjoyed your play with the forms and muse…always fun when you get to tickle back! And thanks for the added bonus of the trip down memory lane AND the shorty love! 🙂 Happy OpenLinkNight! 🙂

  8. brian miller says:

    nice…love your textures of a night in the city during the rain…the lights kinda fog and blur at times…and you captured that well…too bad about the noodle bar…would not mind some about now…smiles…

  9. bajanpoet says:

    Loved the images in this entire piece … could SEE everything!

  10. Pat Hatt says:

    Being a movie nut the first thing I thought was Blade Runner too, you really made it evoke the movie, nicely done!

  11. poemblaze says:

    Interesting to see your different versions of the poem. The creative process at work.

  12. Variations on a theme! very musical, very effective with the ending.

  13. I could almost wait at the noodle bar… its interesting style and I love rains so it touched me more deeply… last line was perfect…

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2012/01/whispers-haiku-on-how-i-write-poetry.html
    At twitter @VerseEveryDay

  14. C Rose says:

    clever variation of perspectives played out in this composition…enjoyed the end, wonderful fold! ~ Rose

Leave a Reply

