For Someone

It arose long ago
a message
a buddhist monk
enlightened
but unable to speak
the message heard by some
but not by who mattered.

The message
dwelled upon
faded away
retreated to mountain passes
passion turned to stoicism
doused in rain soaken robes
message frozen in the snow.

Time has passed
the robes are now dry
the passes have thawed
the monk returns
his message renewed
the urge to tell
but still reserved.

Even if it perishes
like a tear
in rain.

~~~

I want to write something.
I want to write something great.
But something great isn’t here now.
So I’ll write this instead.

~~~

Meant to be Leonard Cohen style poems but I do not know if they succeeded. I also ripped off Blade Runner. Which may not work.

It’s about something you want to say to someone, but shyness gets in the way. I’m very shy.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For Someone

  1. D... says:

    Something about your explanation is quite endearing my friend.

    I will say this, you have me curious about Leonard Cohen, so I looked for some of his work. I think structurally it’s reminiscent of his work and I think Bladerunner works (but then I think Bladerunner can work with anything). I think, to me, it sounds like you are searching/transitioning. Which is important for any artist, don’t you think? That you are evolving and developing your own style, so that something great will come of it. That’s my impression at least.

    • Thanks for the comment.

      Right now I am just writing what I feel like, what I enjoy. And I guess artistic growth is just a natural by product. You eventually get curious about other forms and want to try them out. Its actually how I started writing poetry.

      And this poem was hard to write. Took a lot out of me as well. Writing’s been a little difficult after it. You’re right, it looks a little transitional. Content I have used before, yet expressed in a different structure and with a different vocabulary.

      Oh and one more thing. My next update might have spider pictures. Just a heads up.

      • D... says:

        It’s nice to stand on the side and watch your work unfold. And I think every creative person gets a bit of a block every now and then. I think it’s best to take time for yourself then.

        Oh spider, eeek, OK, I have been duly warned. Thanks for the heads up….ugh….

Leave a Reply

