Sky Raft (Hermitage) (Poems)

The 10,000 stars flow through the star river
the lone gibbous follows the current

below the night winds howl
ashen beard wispish in movement

ragged cloak dances in the gale
amorphous wind bitten tatters

as I look down upon the lights
illusion of formlessness under heavens gaze

the floating sky raft
abandoned by I now dwelling amongst rivers and mountains

~~~

Candle light escapes from
leafen husks

clothing a cage of
wired sprigs.

Exo-skeletal moths gather
to feed

a crested jumping spider
watching intently

~~~

The deinonychus sit and wait
idle legs flick bothersome itches

awaiting the morning feed
that maintains our fracturable amity

~~~

Just an off shoot from the Sky Raft series.

Inspired by two poems, 7/7 in a Strange Village and After Shih-Te by Meng Hao-Jan and Shih-Shu: http://skyraftwanderer.blogspot.com/2011/11/77-in-strange-village-and-after-shih-te.html

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sky Raft (Hermitage) (Poems)

  1. Thomas Davis says:

    You are always creative. No wonder you are rafting through the sky.

  2. D... says:

    There is a loneliness to the way you phrased these. A bit of anxiety and a twinge of sadness.

    Oh, and the spiders freaked me out….eeeeeeeekkkkkk….

    • I think living on your own in such an environment would be like that. More so if you could see your old community from a distance.

      And those spiders are beautiful. And can glide as well. Just putting that out there.

      • D... says:

        Hehe, it’s sort of adorable the way you root for your spidery friends. It’s nice that you can see the beauty in them. I’m a little inept that way. I mean I can see what you’re saying, but overcoming that phobia has been difficult. Did I tell you I once fell over in one of those high school desks trying to shimmy away from one of them. I was 14 and freaked out to no end, then bam there I was toppled over with the desk on the floor. Didn’t hurt though, desk took all the impact.

  3. Simon says:

    Love the Sky Raft series! Fragments, but complete .I Like the full, but not overfull, sparse rhythm of the verse lines contrasting with the more colloquial looseness and storytelling of the longer lines. (verse/prose a pedantic irrelevance here) A good meal and a good movie all at once in my head……

    • Thank you for the comment.

      Its been fun mixing those forms. And I’m glad the images are coming through.

      Just a question of were it all goes now. There’s a chance I don’t know. Least right now.

Leave a Reply

