The Day It Rained Poetry (Poem)

The clouds rolled over
and stayed there
and got heavier, heavier
and heavier still.
The clouds cracked
and the cracks got wider, wider
and wider still
until the contents poured out.

Pages of poetry rained down,
swirling on breezes,
plastering themselves on roof tiles,
tore and tattered themselves on tree branches
floated on canals and rivers,
trampled under foot,
and caused late trains and traffic jams.

On verdant soil
ancient Chinese poems landed
broke up and sank.
They returned as mulberry groves
of pages and words.

Jack Kerouac poems
blustered down highways
and through coffee house windows
and diner doors
never settling.

Bukoski poems cloistered in gutters and bars.
At first ugly and misshapen
they then unfurled
and illuminated peculiar beauty
for all to see.

Richard Brautigan poetry
crumpled and folded
into catfish and trout
and swam with trout and catfish
through creeks and streams.

Words of Ferlinghetti
came together as a
perfect replica of Coney island
ferris wheel of words
spinning.

Bob Kaufman’s came to rest
on music stands
played and improvised
on by
wild jazz men.

In between the
garbage
and the flowers
pages of Leonard Cohen
nestled in beautiful imperfection.

The poems of
William Carlos Williams
followed in
crying
fire struck slipstreams.

Through the aisles of
supermarkets and malls
the pages of
Ginsberg and Whitman
tumbled sentence in sentence.

In the nooks and crannies
haiku’s clustered
offering enlightenment
and illumination
to whose eyes they caught.

Pages of Pessoa
dazzled and confused
each one written by
someone
else.

Against the setting sun
Dylan Thomas caught
a breeze and spun
incandescently
in the dying light.

And eventually the
wind blew it all away.
All except the swaying mulberries
of words and pages
the ever spinning ferris wheel
of sentences
and the paper fish
that kept on swimming.

~~~

Just some homages to some poets I like.

Also I’m aware of the creative blogger awards. And I’m working on those. Just not the best with that sort of thing is all.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Day It Rained Poetry (Poem)

  1. just when i thought i couldnt find something interesting new and very different you wrote this poem well done great use of words and the imagination loved it brilliant poem

  2. I love this – a poetry cloudburst of favorites, falling into their rightful places to become masterpieces! Nicely done. 🙂

  3. D... says:

    There is a secret smile to these lines. Reading without prior knowledge of the referenced poets it reads nicely and you can imagine the scene, but knowing the relations to the poets is really cool. Some of your favorites are fast becoming mine too. All hail the secret smile.

    • Wow, I’ve impacted someones reading habits. That’s…wow. Huh, didn’t know I could do that.

      I do hope this can work with just straight images and on the level of “hey, I get that!”. That would be nice.

  4. Glad you followed your heart and continued to write poetry. From what I have read in the last little while is soulful, and that makes all the difference. A poet sees the world through watercolor eyes, and paints what is seen in words that alight in the heart …. this one is brilliant!

    • Thank you for the comment.

      Really, that’s about as good a comment as I’ve gotten. With a reply like that, my writing choice, it’s validated. A thousand thank you’s to you good sir.

    • As part of the Versatile Blogger Award, I have chosen you and your blog as one to be recognized as a blog that I find to be creative, reflecting the thoughts and feelings of the author in a way that touches the hearts and mind of others. There are so many to choose from – Thank you for sharing your world ….
      Please feel free to post the award on your site.
      http://grandfathersky.wordpress.com/grandfatherskys-blogs/
      Take your time posting this, it is hard to keep up! I see you have the KBA pending as well… congrats

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    Oh, just lovely. I love all those poets as well and you’ve pulled it together so perfectly–very vivid, and yet, of course, also symbolic/referential; and the end is especially wonderful. (I’m sorry–at moments I thought of the children’s book Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs–but only in the best of senses–the magic of something other than rain coming from the sky–in this case, perhaps, leaves of grass.)

    K.

    • Thank you for the comment.

      You know can’t believe I missed leaves of grass. And I’d take Cloudy with a Chance as a compliment any day. It’s a fantastic display of imagination.

      It annoying me that I have no female poets in this though. That’s pretty awful,

  6. siubhan says:

    nice tribute. loved the mulberry groves, especially.

  7. sharmishtha says:

    an amazing journey in the world of poetry. loved the way you imagined pouring down poetry. just loved it.

  8. ivanlabayne says:

    it’s beautiful how we can rewrite the world with poetry and how they “never settle” and “illuminate peculiar beauty” and allowing us to see the world in a new light. poetry is ahm, how do i put it, the most easily breathtaking of all literatures, in my opinion. nice poem, you have a talent.

  9. Robert says:

    This is pacy and exciting, full of lively images.

  10. Ben Naga says:

    Really like this. Could I share this at my local poetry group meeting?

  11. Great homage and for me, the perfect storm 🙂

  12. Brian Carlin says:

    It’s midwinter, and I’ve just been caught in a summer downpour, my favourites cascading down and soaking me with a smile…. Thank you for this

  13. claudia says:

    whew!!!! so cool, so very cool… i wanna stand outside when this happens…in the middle of all these spilled words and pages and songs….loved, loved, loved it!!!!!!

  14. zongrik says:

    i like how you establish the images and then bring them back at the end

  15. Ooo-wee, dis was good! I’m not gonna give you any fancy words of praise, suffice it to say, that I wish I had written it. I loved the images here and the roll-call of superior talent name-checked.

    OK, I’m jealous, but in a good way. Thanks for a great poem.

  16. Uneven Stephen says:

    This is great. I love the odes each stanza offers. I just started reading “On the Road”, so I especially like this one:

    “Jack Kerouac poems
    blustered down highways
    and through coffee house windows
    and diner doors
    never settling.”

    Thanks for sharing.

  17. brian miller says:

    ha this would be trulyu fascinating to see all the poetry raining down…have you ever read shaun tan? he has a little story on where all the thrown out poetry goes and maybe one day it will rain down…cool piece…

  18. Loved this–I loved the premise and the execution–lovely writing!

  19. yelena says:

    wow, i’ve just felt a summer rain in the middle of cold russian winter. especially enjoyed lines about Jack Kerouac and Leonard Cohen. thank you for share and glad to have discovered your poetry. 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment.

      I love Leonard Cohen so to see you highlight him is special to me. and I’m glad I found your blog as well. Tis a wonderful visit whenever I’m there.

  20. Ravenblack says:

    Excellent tribute. You brought the spirit of their poems to life. Caught a few of my favorites in there too. 🙂

  21. HINES says:

    Yes, yes, yes!
    Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

