I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe…

Birds of flame spiral down from the sky near the Mulberry tree.
I watched a bridge of magpies span the depths of the Star River…

~~~

Immortals riding cranes on the edges of Heaven.
I watched dragons and whales rage in the abyss of the Yellow Sea.

~~~

The Sky Raft Wanderer skim the shoulder of Orion.
I watched ancient fires glitter in the darkness at the Dragon Gate.

~~~

River boats swallowed whole by river lords at the Yangtze Delta.
I watched dragon fire flare in the heavens over the Forbidden City.

~~~

Carp transform into dragons at the heights of Dragon Gate.
I watched teeth flash in the Yellow Sea stained crimson.

~~~

All these moments will be lost in time…like tears in rain. Time to die.

~~~

Attempts (all probably fails) at having ago at the best scene in movie history (yes I said that):

And a poem that inspired me:

http://skyraftwanderer.blogspot.com/2012/02/poem-by-po-chu-i.html

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe…

  1. Joy & Ruin says:

    I think you did a good job, a few lines in I felt that scene might have been your inspiration.

    More Human than Human

  2. simon7banks says:

    IThis is strangely hynotic. I like the way some images and phrases recur in slightly changed form.

  3. D... says:

    You know my love of the movie. I’m with you my friend. And as a fellow Blade Runner lover let me just say, “I think you did it justice!!!!”

  4. Yousei Hime says:

    This is my husband’s favorite scene in one of his favorite movies. If the discussion turns to movies, he’ll always bring up this scene. I loved your poem before I ever knew about the connection, probably because it has captured the sentiment of that scene so well.

    • If I captured the sentiment of that scene, then that’s pretty great right there.

      And it really is an amazing scene. I keep saying perfect when referencing it, but that’s what it is. Everything about it works.

  5. Oh. Very clever prompt, with a lovely product 🙂

  6. claudia says:

    nice…this reads indeed like film sequences…each one takes us to another scene and paints another picture….I watched ancient fires glitter in the darkness at the Dragon Gate…nice…

  7. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Oh, I love this piece. Really great job, the scene was not lost at all. Thanks.

  8. brian miller says:

    i want some of whatever you are having so if you die…please leave some behind…the images hit and stacato like a film reel…little glimpse but enough to explode on the edges of our imagination…

  9. Claudia is right…the passages play out like scenes.

  10. Pat Hatt says:

    Best scene ever? Not sure there is such a thing but you nailed it indeed, can see the film within your words.

  11. Gay says:

    Wonderfully magical words..all inspirations work. Mine is from a Ricky Martin song..LOL! This was exquisite. Thank you.

  12. naramalone says:

    Now that was just cool. I liked the way you took the inspiration and made it something new and magical.

  13. Eve Redwater says:

    Fantastic Blade Runner reference! What a fantastic idea! Beautiful words, too. 🙂

  14. 1emeraldcity says:

    What great imagry and elegant flow of words here! I really wanted more…:)) An appetizer, b ut great write!

  15. ~L says:

    creative and magical

Leave a Reply

