Where do the lost poems go?

They take leave through open windows
on paper rafts and day-dream passages.
They meander through a haze of
jumbled letters and words shunted in and out of space.
But after that, where do the lost poems go?

Do they await a collection from a lost poem depot,
stacked high and wide in crates and boxes of metal and wood?
Perhaps they idle in hexagonal storerooms,
awaiting rescue from Babel’s 410 page crimson bound collections.
Or maybe they desire to be something else, and seek out Richard Brautigan’s
house, queuing at his door, seeing if they can join with his plumbing.

Do they become snagged in tree branches, tagged by birds,
before being weaved into nests of twigs and twain?
Perhaps they are washed away when crossing rivers,
snatched by leaping trout, swallowed by lurking catfish.
Or maybe they cross the river, and run free from verse and form,
darting and dancing among vast forests and vague mountains.

Do they get lost in ether’s thick and thin,
plucked down by passers-by with butterfly nets?
Perhaps they morph into other poems,
sometimes similar, sometimes one line survivors.
Or maybe they fade into busy cafe airs,
faded among the azure fogs of teas and coffees.

Or maybe, just maybe
the lost poems never exist.
Perhaps they are just appearances, illusions of words
until they are scribbled onto a page
their abstraction given form.

~~~

This should end soon. Maybe.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Where do the lost poems go?

  1. ebbtide says:

    WONDERFUL! (And yes, deserving all all caps just like that) Though I am convinced personally that my lost poems go off to die a lonely gasping shuddering sort of death within the dusty pages of my wordpress drafts.

  2. This is great – I’ve often wondered this myself! 🙂

  3. leslie says:

    very creative… i loved these lines:

    “Do they become snagged in tree branches, tagged by birds,
    before being weaved into nests of twigs and twain?
    Perhaps they are washed away when crossing rivers,
    snatched by leaping trout, swallowed by lurking catfish.
    Or maybe they cross the river, and run free from verse and form,
    darting and dancing among vast forests and vague mountains.”

  4. yoga-adan says:

    nice question really, does an abstraction exist? and if concretizing it onto form makes it real, does it become unreal when where it’s written dissolves or goes away? what if the words were “only” recorded orally?

    but i sense you must know within yourself where you believe the answers lie, to have so many wonderful images of their transport 😉

    esp liked, “snatched by leaping trout, swallowed by lurking catfish.
    Or maybe they cross the river, and run free from verse and form…”

    btw, what is it that should end soon?

    interesting 😉 thanks so much 😉

  5. The are in the same place as lost remotes, socks and keys. Oh, and my mind.

  6. shanyns says:

    This is so great…something we all wonder and it’s good to see your creative take on it!

  7. edpilolla says:

    creative indeed. like sculptures, not existing until they are put together.

  8. Millie Ho says:

    There is a poem out there. I imagine it as a bird, and only when it is injured can it land safely in our warm palms.

    Great post.

  9. Mama Zen says:

    This is absolutely wonderful!

  10. Grace says:

    This is a treat for the senses….I specially like the third and fourth verses…No, they are not lost…they are just waiting for your pen ~

    Nice to meet you ~ Following ~

  11. I almost hit reblog there. But I managed not to because I know, that only you deserves this post.

  12. Lindy Lee says:

    Are you familiar with phenomenology?

  13. David King says:

    Wonderfully entertaining. I revelled in it. Congrats.

  14. What a delight to stumble across your writing. This is truly wonderful. I look forward to reading more.

  15. love this! thanks for stopping by my blog and creating the path that led me to yours. peace…kellen

  16. I really like this one. The birth of poems and the many unborn.

  17. claudia says:

    smiles…will we ever know…? this was a fun write..much enjoyed and i prefer to think they’re running free somewhere where they have a lot of fun together…just by being who they are..smiles

  18. tashtoo says:

    Wonderful! I’ll have to pretend to lose a few and follow on the sly…really got caught up in the “whimsy” of the write, and my minds adventures as a result…I’m off to hunt!

  19. Ahhhh, this is wonderful! Buttefrly nets, and snagged in branches. What a fun write. Poems and beauty, ephemeral yet chunky with real molecules of soul — nicely conveyed.

  20. This is a wonderful piece–well written and so well crafted–I was just thinking about this very subject this morning–although not quite so eloquently!

  21. brian miller says:

    nice…i like this much…i think it might not be bad if a few f mine lined birds nests you know…def a fun read…and a fun poder…i think they exist…perhaps we will meet one on the street today and take it home…

  22. wcg1670 says:

    and somewhere
    words
    suffering never more,
    rejoice in knowing

    their purpose was served
    —–
    worth pondering

    Peace ☮

  23. I wonder myself this same question sometimes, where do they go, or where do the ones that were never written go. I really like the tone throughout and the way your voice comes through. Outstanding job. The babel stanza is my favorite, love how that one in particular came out and worked in with the piece as an entirety. Thanks

  24. ayala says:

    Creative and a lovely write !

  25. Chazinator says:

    This so well done, I really got hooked into it. Thete’s fun here in your wordplay, wonderful fantasy and creative metaphors, lovely almost meditative rhythm that carries us along into the rabbit hole. Wonderfully done.

  26. 1emeraldcity says:

    What a wonderfully imaginative journey this is! I really didn’t want it to end at all! If you have more, do it! Love it!

  27. D... says:

    I don’t think it’s going to end soon, because now I am wondering where the lost poems go. I wonder if they will visit me in my sleep tonight and let me know their whereabouts. They may be seeking help…you think?

  28. Beth Winter says:

    My lost poems become tangled into my thoughts until their day comes, my muse tickles them and offers their chance to shine. Great work

  29. hypercryptical says:

    Lovely creative write!

    Anna :o]

  30. mairmusic says:

    Love this imaginative flight of fancy!

Leave a Reply

