(Wandering Through) Electric Dreams

Cybernetic Fields

Day dream days of childhood,
counting sheep in emerald fields.

...
   ...
      ...

Room awash with city lights,
amorphous rivers seeping into
subconscious climbs.
To sleep I (try to) fall.

...
   ...
      ...

Counting electric sheep in a
cybernetic field of golden-yellow charge.

.....

I’m a little unsure
of who I am.

~~~

Shepherding When I Should be sleeping

Streetlights that
spark, flicker and flare.
Neon signs whose
thunderous hum rolls through the night.
Tower blocks
that render night and day void.

The city becomes so abstract
and blurred it bleeds into
sleep, so when I should
be sleeping
I am not so.

I am a wanderer in the land of nod,
walking through meadows of golden-yellow charge
conductive staff in hand
leading vast flocks
of electric sheep.

~~~

Electric Sheep

Meandering through the night
in a maze of neon and street light
I’m lost in electric dreams
scanning valleys of technology
for herds of electric sheep.

~~~

I just can’t leave Blade Runner alone. I am aware these poems run off the title of Philip K Dick’s book though.

About skyraftwanderer

A person who enjoys writing short story things, poetry and other random things that come into my head.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to (Wandering Through) Electric Dreams

  1. mairmusic says:

    Love your dream-like images.

  2. simon7banks says:

    I found this strangely compelling. Perhaps the sheep know who you are.

  3. brian miller says:

    def felt the blade runner feel in this…what an interesting form you use as well…i am a wanderer in the land of nod as well….this was def compelling….

  4. yelena says:

    ‘scanning valleys of technology for herds of electric sheep..’ – loved this expression, and also ‘Shepherding When I Should be sleeping’ part. your poetry speaks to me in many colors and hues. thanks for sharing🙂

  5. love your rich and vivid imagery~

  6. cloudfactor5 says:

    Scan no more. Electric sheep, from “Church of the Evolved Lamb” can easily be found in John Scalzi’s “The Android’s Dream” which, like your poem, is a great read!

  7. claudia says:

    this is really cool…just love the… Counting electric sheep in a
    cybernetic field of golden-yellow charge…. has a very technical but also very earthy feeling..

  8. tashtoo says:

    When your pen is on fire, you must let it burn! I thought each and every one was just wonderful! Long live the muse…

  9. Emma says:

    I hate to admit that I’m not familiar with Blade Runner, but it in no way stops me from enjoying what you’ve constructed here. There’s a great deal of interest in the form as well as the rich language. Electric sheep and the focus on technology combined with your color and light based details is a nice mix. Very much enjoyed reading.

  10. Like them all, but the middle one reminds me vividly of being a young boy in new orleans and watching the doughnut shop across the street late at night & early in the morn, when I couldn’t sleep….lots of neon lights there! 🙂

  11. Enjoyed my first visit to your world..intriguing..

  12. D... says:

    You’re not supposed to leave Blade Runner alone. It doesn’t like it when you leave it alone. Of this I am sure. After our trip to China we have to go to Tokyo, must must must. I think we’ll need stronger cameras.

    • I just can’t help it. No film has stuck with me more.

      Also, don’t get it excited but I have been thinking of Asia travels. But I need things first, like a passport, and money. But the thoughts there.

      • D... says:

        I gotcha, I would need to figure out a few things, one of those things being funding. But it’s on my list of things to do. I just got a huge list.

Leave a Reply

